Real-Time Transformer Moisture Monitoring Benefits

Learn at  Vaisala’s Oct 27th Webinar

Leading industrial measurement provider shares fault mitigation guidance with the energy sector, based on a growing volume of real-time monitoring data

Vaisala has emphasized the importance of continuous monitoring of moisture in transformer insulation oil.

Continuous online monitoring will improve understanding of a phenomenon that contributes to the degradation of oil, increases the risk of catastrophic failure and, in the long-term, adds to maintenance costs. Continue reading

Detecting Very Subtle Temperature Differences

Sensitivity better than 15 milliKelvin

GF335 Broadband Thermal Infrared Camera

GF335 MWIR Thermal Infrared Camera by FLIR

Meer, Belgium  —  The GF335 Thermal Infrared Camera from FLIR Systems combines cooled MWIR detector technology with compact handheld design to provide a portable, highly sensitive thermal infrared camera with fast frame rate of 60 Hz, full frame (320 x 240 pixels).

The GF335 is a high sensitivity, low noise, cooled camera that excels at detecting faint heat signatures.

It is well suited to a wide range of applications, including use on test ranges, non-destructive testing, research, and scientific applications.

Featuring a cooled 3–5 µm InSb detector the GF335 is able to produce ultra sharp thermal images.

Its high sensitivity of < 15 mK and “high accuracy of ±1 °C” allow users to detect very subtle temperature differences with great clarity, thus enabling users to thermally characterize a target  accurately detecting the faintest of heat signatures. Continue reading

Thermal Infrared Camera Solution to Manufacturing Moisture/Temperature Need

Fruit Packaging Industry Leader Selects Process Sensors’ PSC-450

 trays with fruit

100& recyclable molded trays with fruit

Yakima, WA, USA — The Infrared Division of Process Sensors Corporation to successfully supply the solution needed by Michelsen Packaging Co, a leading produce packaging and equipment manufacturer for fruit growers, packers and shippers.

Their molded fiber paper trays must meet very exacting specifications and require the highest standards of quality.

The molded trays must be 100% recyclable and incorporate characteristics that allow them to be used in varying temperatures, moisture levels and humidity environments without compromising their ability to protect and handle the fruit. Continue reading

Thermal Infrared Imager Continuously Monitors Industrial Gas Uses

WEBINAR:  25 October 2016 (14.00 UK / 09:00 EDT)

 AMETEK Land NIR-B 3XR thermal process imagerOnline — With the AMETEK Land NIR-B 3XR thermal process imager, operators of industrial gas applications can continuously monitor tube wall temperatures within a live thermal scene.

The NIR-B 3XR is easy to install via a small hole through the furnace wall, and its wide 90-degree horizontal field-of-view provides coverage for many tubes with just a single device.

More than 320,000 temperature measuring pixels help the operator to continuously define and monitor spots, areas, and profiles – even in hazardous areas.

In addition, the high-quality optics afford detailed views of anomalies like flame impingement and coking tubes. Continue reading

ThermoAnalytics 2017 Global UGM

27- 30 March 27 | Southfield, MI, USA

www.thermoanalytics.comOnline — Spend four days with the top leaders in thermal modeling as they address today’s most pressing challenges.

You’ll go home with new strategies and techniques to improve your modeling, maximize budgets and optimize design strategies. Continue reading

Early bird discount for Temperature & Humidity Courses 2017

Temperature Measurement & Calibration Course | 13 – 15 March 2017

Screen Shot_NPL_Logo
Humidity Measurement and Calibration Course | 16 – 17 March 2017

Teddington, UK — Registration is now open for the NPL Temperature and Humidity Measurement and Calibration training courses at NPL, Teddington.

Why attend:

  • The courses concentrate on the main techniques of temperature and humidity measurement in use today, giving background and guidance on their application in industry and science
  • The programme includes a mixture of lectures and laboratory sessions
  • The Temperature Measurement and Calibration Course holds a third optional (highly recommended) day of practical ‘hands-on’ training

Continue reading

Thermal Reactor Vessel Design Improves Reaction Performance

Reactor VesselIsleham, UK — Asynt has produced a new report that compares the thermal performance and advantages of vacuum jacketed versus non-vacuum jacketed reaction vessels.

Data is presented for vacuum jacketed and non-vacuum jacketed reaction vessels connected to a Julabo Presto A30 temperature control system.

The report demonstrates that a vacuum jacketed vessel not only achieved faster rates of cooling but was also able to maintain a reaction at -20 °C compared to just -15 °C for the non-vacuum jacketed vessel.

Beneficially, also using a vacuum jacketed vessel was shown to eliminate ice formation on the outside of the reactor glass (a common problem with non-vacuum jacketed reaction vessels), allowing continuous viewing of the reactor contents. Continue reading

Fluke Calibration Web Seminar Schedule

Educational web seminars

flukecal_logoOnline  —  All events are free of charge and are led by Fluke Calibration technical specialists.

Events are typically 40 – 45 minutes with 15-20 minute Q&A sessions.

All are invited to join and share with their colleagues.

October Web Seminars

Wednesday, October 19 How to Calibrate an RTD 10:00 am Eastern U.S. / 9:00 am Mexico City, Mexico / 3:00 pm London, England / 7:30 pm New Delhi, India
Tuesday, October 25 Automation in the Pressure Calibration Laboratory 8:00 am Pacific U.S. / 11:00 am Eastern U.S. / 10:00 am Mexico City, Mexico / 4:00 pm London, England / 8:30 pm New Delhi, India

Continue reading

Tropical Weather Analytics Launched

Team to Measure Hurricanes from Space

VIS/IR Stereoscopic Imaging

VIS/IR Stereoscopic Imaging

BURLINGTON, MA, USA  .– (BUSINESS WIRE)– Current space-based methods of measuring hurricane intensities have large errors and have not significantly improved for decades.

This has created a lack of trust in the “official” weather predictions among the millions of people worldwide affected by catastrophic storms.

As a consequence, hurricane predictions and warnings often result in complacency and inadequate response or cause unnecessary overreactions.

To address this critical problem, a team of MIT atmospheric scientists and aerospace executives has formed Tropical Weather Analytics, Inc. (TWAI) to provide the most accurate worldwide measurements and forecasts of hurricanes (also called tropical cyclones). Continue reading