ASTM International E20 Elects Thomas J. Wiandt as Chairman

E20, ASTM International’s Committee on Temperature Measurement

wiandt_thomasW. CONSHOHOCKEN PA, USA -???Thomas J. Wiandt, director of metrology in the Temperature Division of Fluke Calibration in American Fork, Utah, has been named chairman of ASTM International Committee E20 on Temperature Measurement.

The committee, with a membership of approximately 150, develops standards that promote the knowledge and advancement of the science of temperature measurement.

A member of ASTM International since 1997, Wiandt works on several E20 Subcommittees, and serves as Chairman of E20.07 on Fundamentals in Thermometry and as Secretary of E20.09 on Digital Contact Thermometers.

He is also a member of Committee E11 on Quality and Statistics. A fellow of ASTM International, Wiandt received the Award of Merit from Committee E20 in 2011 and the Robert D. Thompson Award in 2005.

Wiandt specializes in temperature and electrical metrology, DC/low frequency metrology and statistics. He began his career as a calibration technician for the United States Air Force in 1982.

He then worked as a metrologist at the Northrop Grumman Corp. in Hawthorne, Calif., and as a senior metrologist at Southern California Edison in Westminster, Calif., before joining Hart Scientific (now a part of Fluke Calibration) as metrology manager in 1995. He assumed his current role at Fluke in 2001.

Outside ASTM International, Wiandt is a member of NCSL International and the American Physical Society. He holds a bachelor???s degree in interdisciplinary studies with a concentration on math/physics from Ellis University, Chicago, Ill.

ASTM International is one of the largest international standards development and delivery systems in the world. ASTM International meets the World Trade Organization (WTO) principles for the development of international standards: coherence, consensus, development dimension, effectiveness, impartiality, openness, relevance and transparency.

ASTM standards are accepted and used in research and development, product testing, quality systems and commercial transactions.

ASTM International Committee E20 on Temperature Measurement was formed in 1962. The Committee meets twice a year, at the May and November Committee Weeks, with about 40 members attending 2 days of technical meetings. The Committee, with a current membership of approximately 120, has jurisdiction over 43 standards, published in the Annual Book of ASTM Standards, Volume 14.03.

E20 has 6 technical subcommittees that maintain jurisdiction over these standards. Information on this subcommittee structure and E20’s portfolio of approved standards and Work Items under development are available from the List of Subcommittees and Standards. These standards have and continue to play a preeminent role in all aspects of temperature measurement.